Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 whats your best advice for a beginner >

whats your best advice for a beginner

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

whats your best advice for a beginner

Old 09-03-2004, 07:31 PM

Default RE: whats your best advice for a beginner

The very best thing I can say is(since pratice was taken) is start simple and work your way up. There is a LOT of knowledge to be learned, and a lot of gadgets and gizmos to mess with, but theres just too much to learn it all at once. When i started out i didnt have anyone to show me or tell me anything about hunting, so i just got in the woods and started teaching myself. I think i was alot better off that way because i learned slowly and gradually by trial and error......Many missed chance, close calls and dead deer later, I'm still learning every single trip. No matter how long you enjoy our outdoors, there will ALWAYS be more to learn!!

One more thing is when something fails dont hesitate to ask people no matter how dumb it may seem. I've taken several good deer, but I still post "stupid" questions on this board every other week or so. If you have the opportunity to ask someone with more experience, then take it. Good luck to ya!!!
Old 09-03-2004, 07:37 PM
Nontypical Buck

I don't know about you , but my arm gets super sore after appx. 1.5 hours .
WOW. I keep my practice sessions to a low of 30 shots to a high of maybe 100. After that I think I am causing more damage then good.
Old 09-03-2004, 07:38 PM
Fork Horn