HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   3/4 inch groups ? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/71108-3-4-inch-groups.html)

KimberRuger 09-01-2004 10:59 AM

3/4 inch groups ?

I'm new to bows/archery. I bought a bow before the start of last season figuring I'd practice for a year before going into the field with it. I'm sure I've shot over 2,000 arrows, but at 30 yards the best I can constently do is like 3", with my best ever being just over 1 1/2 inches.

I went to the bowshop after reading a post here from someone claiming to be shooting 3/4 inch groups because I thought my bow might be messed up. Nope nothing wrong with the bow. So I figured it must be me. The guy at the range watched me shoot a half dozen times and said he couldn't see where I was doing anything wrong.

Now, I know that without actually seeing me shoot it's pretty much impossible to say what it might be, but I'm hoping someone might be able (and willing) to give me a few tips on what to look for.

Generally, when the groups get larger, the arrows are off to the left, but from time to time they're "erratic" - some low, some high, and a few to the right. I'm pretty sure the bowshop knows what they're doing, and it's not the bow, - the only problem is the "nut that holds the release".

Any tips or advice will be greatly appreciated - thanks in advance.

Rack-attack 09-01-2004 11:02 AM

RE: 3/4 inch groups ?

I'm sure I've shot over 2,000 arrows
Shoot around 10,000 more and you will be there:D

It don't come overnight;)

greg-dude 09-01-2004 11:11 AM

Are you talking about three inch groups around the bullseye? If you are, that's not bad for hunting situations at 30 yards. There are always ways of improvement. Mostly, a correct and consistent shooting style.

dough boy 09-01-2004 11:12 AM