Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

[Deleted]

Old 02-26-2002, 06:44 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 02-26-2002, 06:51 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: I'm a beginner to bow hunting, need help!

I hate to sound like a broken record, but the only sure fire way to get set up correctly is to find a quality "proshop". One with a good reputation, that will take the time to measure you and set you up properly. Their are some books avalible that will realy help you get started, but they are not a short cut. Find a good shop and let them help you out, and get you started correctly.

TAKE YOUR KIDS HUNTING AND YOU WON'T BE HUNTING FOR YOUR KIDS
Old 02-26-2002, 07:40 PM

As another skip in the broken record, I'd go with 5 shot's suggestion. You'll find your bowhunting experience a lot less frustrating at the beginning.

"Hunt smart, know your target and beyond"
Old 02-26-2002, 07:59 PM
Giant Nontypical

Take into account that this will probably not be compatible with majority thinking.

I recommend starting out with either a round wheel or mild dual cam bow around 40" axle to axle. Get one that has a generous brace height, no less than 7" an 8" would be even better. Get a bow that you can draw easily at peak weight, then drop that weight by 5 pounds to work on your shooting form.

Don't spend a lot of money on that first bow because you will learn to like and dislike certain features. If you spend a lot of money, you will either be stuck with something you don't really care for or you'll take a beating when you sell it. Very few people wind up actually liking their first bow and we all wind up wanting something different before long. Wait to spend the big bucks when you find out what your likes and dislikes are.