Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Do Game Cameras Scare Big Bucks?? >

Do Game Cameras Scare Big Bucks??

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Do Game Cameras Scare Big Bucks??

Old 05-30-2004, 03:26 PM

Default Do Game Cameras Scare Big Bucks??

I have been using game cameras for the last 2 years and have started to notice
that once I get a big buck on my game camera I never seem to ever get another
picture of him at the same location. The only exception to this I have noticed is
if I am baiting and then the buck has more of a reason to re-visit the site. I really
like setting my cameras on the trails leading to my stand but I can't help thinking
that I might be doing more harm than good even if I stay as scent free as possible
while checking the cameras. Has anyone else noticed this same pattern?
Old 05-30-2004, 08:43 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Do Game Cameras Scare Big Bucks??

Good question, I often wonder the same thing. I have been told both ways, some say it wont bother them, and some say that if it is a mature deer, they will not come back. I have one of my cameras set up over a salt block set up, and it is right at one of my stands, so I wonder about it all the time. It will be interesting to hear some other opinions on this.
Old 05-30-2004, 09:10 PM
Nontypical Buck

I have multiple pics of a buck from last year. Even if it does scare them I don't think you're going to run him out of your property. He might just alter his route but still be in the same general area.
Old 05-30-2004, 10:09 PM
Nontypical Buck

What about setting it up so it doesn't shoot at night, or shut the flash off? Why do you care where the deer are at nighttime anyways. If your strictly using it for scouting then you should just take daytime pics anyways.
Old 05-31-2004, 12:12 AM

thenuge15,