Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

shooting dogs

Old 12-02-2003, 09:54 PM

Default shooting dogs

[:@] alright guys, i need to vent a little. I am a veterinarian IL. I am also an avid bow hunter. BUT, i am getting sick and tired of getting called in the middle of the night to work on somebodys dog that has been shot by a deer hunter. Fortunately, 2 of them have recovered, but we lost a cconhound last week after about 3 hrs of reconstructive surgery. Yeah, I would be pissed if a dog came thru running deer where i hunted too, but why kill somebodys pet or hunting dog?!?! what gives you the right?? just because you might have paid big bicks to hunt doesnt mean you own the place. The CPO came into the clinic last week with a beagle that he found laying dead next to the deer hanging in camp, like it was on display. not only is killing someones dog wrong, but it makes us all look like a bunch of idiots and gives the antis more fuel. i know the people doing this are just a handful of bad eggs, but it is happeneing too often. all right, i feel better now. any comments??
Old 12-02-2003, 10:12 PM

Default RE: shooting dogs

I agree. I hunt deer, and dogs runthrough sometimes. I get over it. This is a time when more dogs are out in the woods, too because of hunting season. Don't shoot someone's dog, guys. You'll make every hunter look like an indiot.
Old 12-02-2003, 10:14 PM
Nontypical Buck

Sure I have some comments but it's 11pm at night, I'm tired, I've made this arguement 100 times before, and it's not going to do any good. So it's hard to get me to spend the next 30 mins. of my life replying.

I'll give a short reply....
Yeah, I would be pissed if a dog came thru running deer where i hunted too, but why kill somebodys pet or hunting dog?!?! what gives you the right?? just because you might have paid big bicks to hunt doesnt mean you own the place.