Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 buck fever/ animal fever >

buck fever/ animal fever

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

buck fever/ animal fever

Old 10-16-2003, 09:53 AM

Default buck fever/ animal fever

First a little background on me: I' m 37, grew up on a cotton farm on the south plains in Texas and have worked at a gun/archery shop off and on for about 15 years. I have been hunting with a rifles, pistols, and shotguns for most of my life.

I have been shooting 3D archery for the past two years. I have gotten over target panic (at least most of the time, with an occasional flare-up) and the pressure from competition doesn' t really bother me (at least no more than anyone else).

Last year was the first time I had ever been bowhunting. I did get a feral hog.

Now, this is my first deer hunting with a bow.

My question : " What do you do to get over buck/animal fever while on the stand." You know the adreneline dump you get when a game animal that you are hunting for walks out.
How do you settle your nerves and not have " target panic" and make a hasty shot?
Old 10-16-2003, 09:59 AM

Default RE: buck fever/ animal fever

Usually I just freak out for a while as i watch them approaching. Basically, the longer i can see the deer, the worse my apprehension. Thats why i prefer to hunt thick stuff, then i dont have time to freak out, i just have to shoot or the deer is gone. Other than that, just enjoy the experience, even if you get so worked up you cant even draw your bow.
Old 10-16-2003, 10:18 AM

Experience is the only thing that gets you over it. You will just have to experience it and learn to control it. I have noticed that the more I practice with my weapon the less nervious I am when it is actually time to take the shot. Don' t look at the rack don' t think about getting the animal just think about making you shot.