Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Crap, bow making new "bad" noise... >

Crap, bow making new "bad" noise...

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Crap, bow making new "bad" noise...

Old 07-20-2011, 03:05 PM
Fork Horn

Default Crap, bow making new "bad" noise...

I have a Bear Element bow and I've been shooting it for 3 years and love it. Always shot great and quiet as heck. Well it was time for a new string and I purchased a VaporTrail string so I know its quality and an upgrade from the stock string I had on. I took it to BassPro today to get it put on and they did it right there in their archery shop as I waited. It all looked good when i got it back. Of course I wanted to shoot today. I took the first shot and holy crap i never heard that noise before. I thought something was loose so tightened everything and tried again, same thing. I should add Im using the same brand/type string silencers I always have, nothing at all is different on the bow but the string. The only possible thing I can think of is the cables. I've heard of cable noise but never experienced it. Its a loud noise that has a "vibration" sound to it. I can take a video tomorrow if that will help. While looking the bow over, I noticed the plastic by the cable guard looks different. It always sat flush against the bar but now, one "arm" is bending out as if there's more pressure than before. I never remember the plastic sliding as easy as it does now as well. Is that due to it being a new string that hasn't stretched yet or now that I moved up to a better string, will I need to get some cables silencers etc? I'm really confused here. If I need stuff for the cables, any suggestions to what? Does anyone think basspro messed something up?
I attached pics to help show what i described. Any help is MUCH APPRECIATED!!!