Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 What do you think is a good group? >

What do you think is a good group?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

What do you think is a good group?

Old 07-09-2003, 07:21 PM
Fork Horn

Default What do you think is a good group?

I have been shooting bows for many, many years and have shot with a lot of people around here and am one of the better shots out of my friends but I am wondering what you guys consider good shooting. At 10 yards I can' t shoot 2 arrows at the samb spot, at 20 yards, things change, and my groups open up to about 3 inches with a very occasional flyer. at 40 yards I am 6 to 8inches and the flyers seem a little more frequent. I never will shoot at a deer over 20 yards but was wondering what people are capable of. We had a pro living here and he would hit an X about the size of a dime at 20 yards every shot but he did that for a living. I want to know about guys who practice and bowhunt, and if I should be satisfied with my accuracy or should obsess over trying to be perfect.
Old 07-09-2003, 07:25 PM
nub

Default RE: What do you think is a good group?

I am wondering what you guys consider good shooting.
I consider 1" for every 10 yards " good shooting" .
Strive to be the best you can and know your limitations.
Old 07-09-2003, 07:34 PM

I agree with nub

but with a bit of practice, proper form lessons, and a bow fit and tunes for your style - I think a little bit better is possible
Old 07-10-2003, 06:58 AM

STACKEM! That would be a good group
AL
Old 07-10-2003, 06:59 AM

never be satisfied with accuracy until you are driving tacks and

know where the arrow is going. (meaning the flyers)

I don' t think you can shoot a group that is tight enough! IMO
Old 07-10-2003, 07:35 AM

I can usually shoot consistant 2-3 inch groups at 30 yards under good conditions.