Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
New to Bow Hunting....Whats a good follow Thru? >

New to Bow Hunting....Whats a good follow Thru?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

New to Bow Hunting....Whats a good follow Thru?

Old 08-09-2010, 05:42 AM
Fork Horn

Default New to Bow Hunting....Whats a good follow Thru?

Can you please help describe how a good release looks/feels/ etc??? I am new to bow hunting and not real sure if I'm following thru correctly or not. Trying to avoid bad habits right out of the gate. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you!
Old 08-09-2010, 05:55 AM
Nontypical Buck

well, as i leave my hand open on the grip, after i shoot i allow the bow to "fall" if you will....thats what the wrist strap is for..imo
Old 08-09-2010, 06:40 AM
Fork Horn

Originally Posted by halfbakedi420
well, as i leave my hand open on the grip, after i shoot i allow the bow to "fall" if you will....thats what the wrist strap is for..imo
Good, I do have a wrist strap so that helps. Thank you
Old 08-09-2010, 06:45 AM
bigcountry

Just letting a bow fall is not all followthru.

In fact, I highly discourage all shooters, especially new ones from putting so much stabilizer up front they need to catch a bow. I have seen it so many times start horrible gripping and torquing.

Followthru is push and pull. When you release, you should be pulling thru the shot. If you find your gripping the release and your hand is beside your face after the shot, your not following thru. If you hand goes back behind your ear straight back, thats follow thru. The shot should be sorta surprising. The bow arm should be dead solid, not flailing around or the bow pushed left or right. The bow should be left to do what it wants after the shot.

Old 08-09-2010, 06:50 AM
Nontypical Buck

i noticed that you said new,