Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Tuning Broadheads >

Tuning Broadheads

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Tuning Broadheads

Old 06-16-2003, 09:16 PM

Default Tuning Broadheads

Heard of this problem but never experienced it. I am fairly new to bowhunting and when I bought my bow I just shot it. Broadheads, Fieldpoints, it didn' t matter, they all shot perfect. Since then, have bought some new arrows(Goldtip 5575) and broadheadsI(G5 Montecs) and paper tuned my bow at a proshop. Now I can get a perfect group with fieldpoints and almost miss the target with broadheads, low and to the right.

I was shooting cheap Easton carbon arrows, now with better gear and seemingly more knowlegde, comes more problems.

Any help?
Old 06-16-2003, 09:32 PM

Default RE: Tuning Broadheads

when shooting broadheads you must slightly resight your pins on your sight since broadheads don' t fly like your field points
Old 06-16-2003, 10:36 PM
Boone & Crockett

If you are almost missing the target then your bow it not at its' best tune. Make very small adjustments moving the nock down in 1/16th" incraments and that should move the arrows up on the target. Move the rest to the left in about 1/32" incraments and that should bring the arrows back to the left.

Before you do this however make sure that all of your broadheads spin perfect with no wobble at all.

The broad heads will catch wind if they are not coming off the bow straight and will have a tendancy to turn in flight. Just like if you stick your hand out the window of a car going 60mph. There is a sweet spot that will allow your hand to ramin stable and if you twist it then your hand will move up, down, left or right. Samd goes with broadheads, If the blades are not slicing the wind just right then they will turn in flight.
Old 06-16-2003, 11:22 PM
Giant Nontypical