Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
First time bowhunting - no deer, but learning a lot >

First time bowhunting - no deer, but learning a lot

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

First time bowhunting - no deer, but learning a lot

Old 11-29-2009, 05:53 PM
Fork Horn

Talking First time bowhunting - no deer, but learning a lot

Since I'm a full-time college student pursuing a pre-med degree, Thanksgiving break was the first time I could really get out there. I've never hunted before, but have always liked the idea of it. My dad fished a lot and hunted a little, but he died when I was 14 so I never really got to learn any of that stuff from him. Thankfully I met the right guy and he and his family are starting to get me into the sport. You might have seen him around here...[BuckRogers].
Anyway, he took me out almost every morning and a few evenings. We hunted mainly on the ground because we weren't seeing much action from his tree stand. Thanksgiving morning a group of 5 does showed up around us, and after having a staredown with one doe, she stepped out in front of the ground blind. Since I'm so inexperienced, I'm relying on my boyfriend for basically everything. He told me to draw back and to use my 30yd pin. I did, and let the arrow fly....and missed. The whole group of them ran off. I was a little disappointed in myself, but we practiced with a target later and realized that my sight must have gotten bumped because all my arrows were shooting about 7 inches low and to the left. I'm glad I missed by that much, because I would feel awful if I wounded a deer.