Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Need help with my target panic!!!!!!!! >

Need help with my target panic!!!!!!!!

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Need help with my target panic!!!!!!!!

Old 07-20-2009, 12:18 AM
Spike

Default Need help with my target panic!!!!!!!!

I have been bowhunting since 1985 and I have harvested many deer with my bow including 2 that gross over 155". Last year after several sessions of bad practice and a little research I finally figured out that I suffer from target panic along with Ted Nugent. I have shot and missed several deer and yes wounded a few that I did not recover.
From what I understand it sometimes take years to overcome. I thought about maybe switching to a back tension release to help out some.
Does anyone else suffer from this? How have you handle it and what works for you?
Thanks Alot,
Shaner
Old 07-20-2009, 01:59 AM
Nontypical Buck

I have had it in the past and it is a challenge to overcome. I tried everything including hypnosis (which helped by the way). I think the best solution is to change your drawing and holding routine. If you normally draw and bring your pin up on your target, try bringing the pin down from the top. Or put the pin on your target before you draw and keep it there during the draw. Practice drawing and holding without releasing. Let down and draw again, this time release.
It's going to take work, but you'll eventually beat it.
Old 07-20-2009, 02:37 AM
Dominant Buck