Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Fletching arrows >

Fletching arrows

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Fletching arrows

Old 06-29-2009, 06:28 PM
Typical Buck

Default Fletching arrows

I was killing some time this afternoon and found myself in the Gander Mtn archery section (surprise surprise) and I picked up a Bohning fletching jig (one of those inexpensive red plastic ones), some new white wraps and some new five inch white feathers. Having never fletched arrows before i managed to make a wonderful mess with my first attempt. but after toying with it a little more i successfully fletched my first arrow! haha i must admit it was kinda rewarding to go down in the basement and shoot it. Being a novice I was wondering how many guys here fletch or make their own arrows and if you do if you had any tips, techniques, or recommendations?
Old 06-29-2009, 08:50 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Fletching arrows

I started fletching my own arows a couple years ago myself and it does give you a sense of pride to make your own arrows! Haha the first year I started fletching I had all sorts of different color fletching on my arrows, my quiver looked like something that belonged to a clown!!!

the only thing I do that may be different is I put my fletchings much closer to the back of my arrow, because in my thinking the further back the fletching the more stabilization the arrow SHOULD have but thats not saying it's true??? I havent had any problems yet though??

I also use a cheap Red plastic Bohning but for doing a dozen or so arrows a year it should last for quite awhile???

Old 06-30-2009, 04:28 AM
Typical Buck

I have a black Bohning fletching jig. Do all my own arrows. I generally the back of my fletching at the 3/4" hatch from the bottom of the clamp. Seems to work well for me?
Old 06-30-2009, 04:39 AM
Fork Horn