Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Mentor

Old 05-28-2009, 11:47 PM
Typical Buck

Default Mentor

Who taught you? My granpa tought me how to be a trapper, I taught myself every thing else.
Did some teach you or did you teach yoursel?f
Old 05-29-2009, 05:53 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Mentor

Taught myself.
Old 05-29-2009, 05:55 AM
Giant Nontypical

My dad.
Old 05-29-2009, 06:35 AM
Typical Buck

My dad taught me but I have since started to teach/educate my second cousin and his uncles son. So I guess now Im a mentor.
Old 05-29-2009, 07:43 AM
Nontypical Buck

I had a neighbor that was retired, taught me everything about trapping and bass fishing when I was a kid.

As far as archery goes, a co-worker stuck a bow in my hand one day then helped me set one up when I bought my first. Since then I've been self taught.
Old 05-29-2009, 08:08 AM
Fork Horn

First one in my family to hunt??? Got a vegi as an aunt and an animal lover as a mom, sure mom eats meat but she is ignorant to where that meat comes from...regardless as soon as I was old enough bought my own bow and license and started. That being said as a kid my best friend and his dad bowhunted and always let me shoot their practice bows, I knew then that I loved it, in fact I still remember helping them drag an eight point from behind his house. It was him who taught me good shooting ethics, and management...When I got my first deer two years ago it was him who I called..even hung the deer in his barn...so I guess he was a mentor...

I'm lucky now, that my brother has started hunting because of me and I'm seeing my young cousins taking an interest...hopefully I can pass the favor on.
Old 05-29-2009, 09:40 AM
Fork Horn

No one in my family hunts. Only a few of my friends do. I taught myself everything.
Old 05-29-2009, 12:46 PM
Fork Horn