Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 How to dissolve the flesh? >

How to dissolve the flesh?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How to dissolve the flesh?

Old 02-19-2009, 06:48 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default How to dissolve the flesh?

Hey guys, i was just wondering how or what to do to dissolve the flesh on the buck i foundto where its just bone, thanks
Old 02-19-2009, 07:54 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: How to dissolve the flesh?

I'm no expert, I just know you can google it, try, "How to european mount" and numerous choices pop up.

Good luck, sounds stinky.

If you have a pond, you can tie it to a couple of milk jugs and suspend it in the water, do not let it lay on the pond bottom as this will discolor whatever contacts the mud, pull it out after afew months and it should be clean, we did this with a buck my brother inlaw shot, the bone did not seem to weaken.
Old 02-20-2009, 02:23 AM
Fork Horn

BOILthe skull. This will remove all of the flesh. Try to position the skull so the antlers begin where the bubbles of the boil are popping.
Trade secret: carefully(for your sake, not the skulls)take an air compressor to thenasal holesof the deer and much of the brain will explode out the bigger whole in the back of the deer where the spinal cord used to connect in. If this doesn't work sometimes it may be appropriate to drill a small hole in the upper pallet of the deers mouth, since it will not be visable on the mount and use it as your air compressors entry point. This method is even more effective for speeding up the process when you attach a little L shaped wire to a drill and use the spinal cord whole to stick the wire into the brain and blend it up a little....just be careful during the whole process as the brains like to get the last laugh by hitting your face if you're not paying attention.
Old 02-20-2009, 02:57 AM
Fork Horn