Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Grunting

Old 06-17-2008, 10:03 PM

Default Grunting

How often do you guys grunt while your out hunting? I was watching a hunting show the other day and this guy, Dr. buck or something like that i might not even be close, but he said it doesn't hurt to grunt or make any type of deer vocalization every five minutes. Is this true? i have been hunting for 6 years now and have shot several deer but i dont think i have actually called one in. Im just curious on how often you guys grunt while hunting, thanks!
Old 06-17-2008, 10:22 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Grunting

depends on when and where.....
I rarely blind call here in KY, but do it ALOT in KS. I don't think it hurts any. Once in KS I had a buck follow 2 does past me in a creeek. I listened for an hour while he chased these does in the creek splashing and grunting the entire time. He was very noisy. I've also noticed bucks that have trailed does past my stands grunting almost constantly. If I'm hunting the midwest and the rut is kicking off then I blind grunt alot. Here in KY I usually only grunt when I see a buck that doesn't look like he's coming in. I base this on the fact that the deer here just seem less vocal. I've heard the "roar" on several occasions in KS, and rarely hear bucks grunt here in KY.
Old 06-17-2008, 10:23 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 06-17-2008, 10:27 PM
Giant Nontypical

I usually only Grunt when a Buck is visible and not coming where I want him.

With the exception of when I rattle I may throw in a few grunts.

I doubt grunting will spook deer unless you really got crazy with it. I have grunted in several Bucks and arrowed them, so it is a lethal tool.