Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 "Hunter" class 3D question about sights >

"Hunter" class 3D question about sights

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

"Hunter" class 3D question about sights

Old 11-19-2007, 06:04 AM
Dominant Buck

Default "Hunter" class 3D question about sights

I was looking through some info, last night, about a couple 3D shoots I want to compete in next year.....and they said the sight could not be of the "slide bar" variety.

I shoot a Viper Predator that has a slide-out mechanism. Is this what they're talking about? I'm new to this type terminology.

Thanks.
Old 11-19-2007, 06:22 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: "Hunter" class 3D question about sights

Pretty sure they mean one where you can dial in the yardage, must be fixed pin. If I am wrong, someone please correct me!
Old 11-19-2007, 07:28 AM
Nontypical Buck

Your Viper is legal. The "slide bar" is like the adjustable single pin sights, or a worm drive sight like my Axcel 3000.
Old 11-19-2007, 08:24 AM
Giant Nontypical

Below is a picture of a sight with a slide bar. It's a bar that fits into a dovetail mount on your bow. You can have fixed pins on a slide bar and some hunting type sights come with that kind of mount on a very short bar. The rule needs some clarification because they are banning some sights that will not extend as far as quite a few that have fixed but very long mounting brackets.

Old 11-19-2007, 08:31 AM
Dominant Buck

Well....My Viper has that type mount. That's why I asked.
Old 11-19-2007, 08:37 AM
Giant Nontypical

Yeah, that's what I was afraid of. Usually a sight with a dovetail mount isn't illegal, but clubs can set their own rules in unsanctioned shoots. Like I said, you need to contact the folks in charge of these tournaments and ask them about your sight, specifically, to get the rule clarified.