Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Bow Hunting gear >

Bow Hunting gear

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Bow Hunting gear

Old 10-24-2007, 06:20 PM

Default Bow Hunting gear

This is getting a little crazy. It's my first year bowhunting, and I really need to consolidate my gear. How do you guys get into your stand? Here's my set-up:

On my back I wear my climbing stand. It really doesn't seem to pack easily. I may take the straps off my rucksack and toss them on there to see if it helps.

In front, I wear my backpack (backwards). It has my water, spare clothes, scents, gloves, and other things I need throughout the day. I have a sling on my bow, over my neck, with the bow resting on my pack.

Unfortunately, I can't leave my stand in the woods overnight. Perhaps if I could find a safe place to hide it I could, but I never know when I'll have time to hunt, so I often have to go to a closer place than normal.

I don't imagine they make a backpack that would carry something as large as a stand, nor can I find a pack that would comfortably attach to the stand. Any suggestions? What do you more experienced bowhunters do?
Old 10-24-2007, 06:28 PM
Spike

Default RE: Bow Hunting gear

I have climber and have fiddled with the stand enough after it was packed up to find a way to get my pack into it and out of it easily so I can carry it in inside the stand and then pull it out at the base of the tree to put it on me to go up the tree. took some time and some trial and error, but eventually found a better way to pack the stand so this would work out.
Don't be afraid to try different ways of packing the stand other than what the manuf. tells you. The way I pack my stand I also found to be more quite as well - bonus!
Old 10-24-2007, 06:31 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 10-24-2007, 06:38 PM