Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 How far does your scent carry? >

How far does your scent carry?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

How far does your scent carry?

Old 09-18-2007, 03:38 PM

Default How far does your scent carry?

I am new to bow hunting and just wonder how far does your scent actually carry downwind?
Old 09-18-2007, 03:49 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How far does your scent carry?

It depends on many things such as air temp, strength of wind, and humindity. as a general rule though, on flat ground I would not want any deer within 300 yard downwind. I have had deer smell me at 200 yards a few times.
Old 09-18-2007, 04:49 PM
Nontypical Buck

And then there are those that walk by at 20-30yds completely unaware,and they say scent-lok doesn't work. Hmmmmm.....
Old 09-19-2007, 08:18 AM

There are a ton of variables with regards to scent and wind drift. Basically your scent travels in a cone shape from the ground and when elevated will cone down from your stand. The more humidity and moisture the heavier your scent will be. When laying a scnt trail, I know this violates the rules, but... lay a trail with the wind, that forces a deer to keep their nose to the ground versus wind checking or throwing their head up when against the wind. If you go in early enough, you can do this without getting busted. Light arid days your scent will travel further and on strong windy days your scent cone will be much narrower but will travel a great distance. As mentioned earlier, getting busted at 200 to 300 yards is not uncommon. Use anti bacterial soap, and be very scent conscience with your clothing. It's all part of the game and that is what makes it fun and challenging. LOL
Old 09-21-2007, 07:07 AM