Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

3-D Tournaments

Old 08-26-2007, 05:07 PM
Fork Horn

Default 3-D Tournaments

I'm new to the whole bowhunting game, but since I got my bow and started shooting, I've become addicted -- not gonna be good for the ole' wallet.

Anyway, just wondered how many of you guys take part in 3-D tournaments and what the atmosphere is like. How fun is it? Are they indoor or outdoor? Do you use your hunting rig for tournaments?

If someone could just give me a brief overview that'd be great. I'm thinking this something I'll want to take a look at in the future. Thanks.
Old 08-26-2007, 05:09 PM

Default RE: 3-D Tournaments

i've never shot a real "tournament", i just go with my wife and friends and have a good time and sling some arrows.
Old 08-26-2007, 05:18 PM
Boone & Crockett

I've done the whole 3D circuit for years, I'm past all that. I've done Cabelas, IBO, ASA, regional and states etc....it's what you want to make of it. If your interested in the whole make yourself a better hunter/shot...local shoots are great fun with your group of friends, especially if you go out to hunt the targets, one shot at an unknown distance....hunting.

I'm my biggest own competitor....I compete against me....sometimes I had great fun, sometimes I was frusterated. I've taken down the trophies, spent the money and I haven't gone on a 3D shoot in years. I'm past all that now but if you've never gone to one, it'll make you a better shot and prepare you for hunting situations (from the ground) and it'll also show you , you might not be as good as you think you are in your own back yard..lol

3D shoots can be very addicting, great fun and an all around great time, it's what you make of it.
Old 08-26-2007, 05:22 PM
Dominant Buck

I shot my first outdoor tournament, last weekend. I've shot in 5 here at home....all indoors. The outdoor was a huge challenge to me.