Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Bone Head Move of The Day >

Bone Head Move of The Day

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Bone Head Move of The Day

Old 08-13-2007, 12:07 AM

Default Bone Head Move of The Day

So Im new to bowhunting and I have a Diamond Rapture which i really like and i have spent quite a bit of time practiceing with someone who is really experianced with archery. Long story short I was on the shoot for my bow hunters safety and smoked the first 2 3d targets and everything was fine. ThenI went into the tree stand and I honestly dont know what i was doing. I didnt knock an arrow when i shot at the target like a moron, and dry fired my bow. Basically it blew out my peep sight. But as for any other damage i cant see any to the limbs, cams, or anything. By the way i finished the course no problem with someone elses bow i had never shot before. But im worried i ruined my bow. Any suggestions would help.
Old 08-13-2007, 12:25 AM

Default RE: Bone Head Move of The Day

Well so far it sounds like you lucked out.. BUT i would recommend takeing your bow in to a pro shop and letting them do a ounce over on the limbs, cams, string etc... just to be certain... Congrats on the course by the way... Your on your way..
Old 08-13-2007, 11:22 PM

Yah, definately second the idea of taking your bow into a Pro Shop. A few weeks ago I managed to dry fire my bow also, lost the peep, but also needed a new string. Nothing else wrong though. Good Luck.
Old 08-14-2007, 05:27 AM
Typical Buck

You said you did fine till you went to the tree stand. Did your arrow slip off the string as you were releasing it?