Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

blood trail

Old 03-19-2007, 08:25 AM

Default blood trail

I'm new to bowhunting and just wondering if anyone can give me ideas. The question is, If or when I shoot a deer and I lose the blood trail how do I find it again? Is there a spray out there that can illuminate the blood so you can see it better? Any ideas would be welcome. Just bought my first bow and hopefully going to trying hunting this fall. Thanks for any ideas.
Old 03-19-2007, 08:37 AM

Default RE: blood trail

Hello and Welcome!

Well, from the place you loose the blood trail you can continue in a circle patern, expanding the radious few feet at the time depending on the terain. Other method is to follow a grid patern and search every square from the grid in systemathic way...sound complicated but is easy...or you can buy one of these

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/templates/links/link.jsp?id=0015690224984a&type=product&cm Cat=search&returnPage=search-results1.jsp&QueryText=blood+trail&N=4887& amp;Ntk=Products&Ntx=mode+matchall&Nty=1&a mp;Ntt=blood+trail&noImage=0

Also found this...intersting..

"Here is one way to find a faint blood trail when tracking a wounded deer. Pour about eight ounces of hydrogen peroxide into a spray bottle. Add some yellow food coloring to it. Go to the last visible blood sign and lightly spray the surrounding area, grass, leaves, and bushes. The peroxide foams up when it contacts the smallest drop of blood The yellow food coloring makes it more visible."

good luck...

Old 03-19-2007, 08:45 AM
Giant Nontypical

There will be a thread posted late summer that has just about all the info you will need regarding a blood trail and what to do. Hang around here and learn. Always remember...when in doubt WAIT!

Old 03-26-2007, 09:10 AM

thanks guys!! will keep that in mind.
Old 03-26-2007, 01:26 PM
mez
Nontypical Buck