Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 New to deer hunting- need help >

New to deer hunting- need help

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

New to deer hunting- need help

Old 10-11-2006, 08:43 AM
Fork Horn

Default New to deer hunting- need help

This is my first year of hunting- I have been out twice now and the only thing that I have seen is a squirrel...Is there any books or anything that are a "must-read" about deer hunting?

It is kinda rainy/misty today and I dont have to work- I would probably be wasting my time going today huh?
Old 10-11-2006, 08:56 AM

Default RE: New to deer hunting- need help

I am sort of new to this, but there are some great books out there that may help.....Advanced stand placement is a great read....your never wasting time out in the woods....try and learn something everytime out.....and you may not see deer everytime you go....hope this helps. Jay
Old 10-11-2006, 09:00 AM
Giant Nontypical

Oh yeatheres all kinds of books and magazines you can read about hunting deer , here's a few to look for at your local library or favorite book shop.
Hunting Rutting Bucks by John Trout , Jr.
The Art of Whitetail Deception by Kathy Etling
Moon Phase Whitetail Hunting by Jeff Murray
You could learn alot by reading and watching videos and getting advice in here , good luck to ya.
Old 10-11-2006, 09:07 AM
Fork Horn

Thanks guys-

I think I have my ground blind in a pretty good spot- I am in shooting distance of multiple scrapes and 3 rubs! So I dont know...do they usually hit that stuff in the morning or late at night? I usually go out around 3:30 then stay until dark
Old 10-11-2006, 09:08 AM