Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 new to bowhunting - peep questions.... >

new to bowhunting - peep questions....

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

new to bowhunting - peep questions....

Old 08-10-2006, 07:57 AM

Default new to bowhunting - peep questions....

Hey folks,

I plan on purchasing a new, 1st bow this fall/spring finally, take the next year to practice and become confident in my shot....I was just curious - since I have no prior experience, habits, etc. would a peep be the best to learn how to use, or would one of the other products, such as the no peep, or peep eliminator, etc. be better for someone to start with from scratch, when bowhunting is the primary goal? yes I'll be practicing a lot on targets and such, but my concern is about low-light situations, in that last 30 minutes of light where everything seems to bleed together.

thanks.
Old 08-10-2006, 11:53 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: new to bowhunting - peep questions....

I've used a peep for over 32 years of bowhunting and target or 3D shooting. I still think it's the best route to follow, especially for a beginner. The difference between target and hunting is the diameter of the hole in the peep. There are a couple out that wor pretty well in that they have a BIG hole. One is the Fletcher Magnum Hunter peep and the metal one made by G5. Both can be had with a 1/4" hole which is plenty in most circumstances for hunting. Specialty Archery makes their Superball peep which has screw-in apertures from about 1/32" up to 3/16 with no screw-in adaptor. The only one I haven't used is the G5, but that's in the works.

My 3D bow had the Specialty with a 1/8" adaptor and my hunting bow carries the Fletcher.

These, along with good fiber optic sights and if I can't see the pin then it's too late to be hunting. Simple as that.