Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Rubber or Leather.etc boots >

Rubber or Leather.etc boots

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Rubber or Leather.etc boots

Old 03-15-2006, 04:30 PM
Typical Buck

Default Rubber or Leather.etc boots

I have been bowhunting for 3 yrs now. I have always worn knee high
rubber boots but have been thinking about switching to core tex, leather
because they breath better. Im a little woried about the scent control
issue,I do use spray on scent control on my rubber boots. I was wondering what type of boots you wear? Especialy in the early season.
Old 03-15-2006, 04:40 PM

Default RE: Rubber or Leather.etc boots

18" rubber scent covered with deer poop in the early season.

rubber bottom and leather upper boots in the winter or anything below 40 degrees with deer poop cover scent.

Old 03-15-2006, 07:37 PM

I have never really had a problem with deer scenting my leather boots. I do spray them down with a fall blend scent killer fairly often and dont keep them right in the house.If deer have cut my trail and get alarmed (not too often), more time than not they are sniffing where my pants or hands brushed on the grass or whatever. To be honest, although a rubber boot doesnt lay scent down, feet sweat so bad in them and the tops arent snug that everytime you move your feet, it sends a puff of your foot stink out the top. I wouldnt worry about scent with leather if you take the same precautions with them as the rest of your clothes.
Old 03-15-2006, 08:01 PM
Fork Horn