Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 The rest of the year blues. >

The rest of the year blues.

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

The rest of the year blues.

Old 01-05-2006, 04:33 PM

Default The rest of the year blues.

Tuesday signified the end of WI's bow season. As I walked out of the woods I felt as if I were ayoung boymoving out of state and away from all that I knew and of course my best buddy. As expected, there were many times when I turned to look back at the stalks of corn and barren trees that once made me so happy, keeping me longing for anotherworkday's end.

Two workdays have passed now with no reward to look forward to. I'm saddened to say the least; I'm depressed to be precise. Yes, I know it will getbetter after it gets worsebut 8 months is no joke. Considering I'm new to bowhunting and being that things are always most exciting when they arefreshly discovered, surely you can understand my anguish.

All is not amiss though. I am now much better prepared for the upcoming year. I know what part of the woods to be at what time of the season. I knowwhen and howto draw on an animal and when and hownot. I know which peep sights work and which don't. I know what to wear in single digit temps and what not. I hunt alone anddidn't have a veteran hunter along side showing me the ropes so it was a hard first full year for me.Given that I'm breaking myself in on high pressure metropolitan public land, hard may not dothe statement justice. Anyhow, alot of my sharpening came from trial and error and the restcan be attributed toyou all of this forum. There is much to be learned yet. Thanks in advance!

p.s. Any suggestions to help wipe away the blues?
Old 01-05-2006, 04:39 PM

Default RE: The rest of the year blues.

Very well spoken. I don't know of a remedy yet, I am still suffering myself.