Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

keep passing?

Old 12-12-2005, 07:32 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default keep passing?

I have passed up a young forkhorn about 6 times over the course of the season and it is getting harder to do. The season ends for me on Jan. 1st. I have seen a couple of good bucks but never had a shot opportunity. Normally I would not consider shooting a buck as young as this one I keep seeing but this is my first year with a bow and I have not yet killed a buck. I have had a pretty good year so far. With my bow I have taken a doe and a hog and with my muzzleloaderI got another hog. So the freezer doesn't really need the meat. At this point I guess it's ego. How bad do I want a buck? I'm inclined to keep letting him walk and see how he looks next year,but DANG it's getting hard. What do you think?
Old 12-12-2005, 07:36 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: keep passing?

And a good inclination it is.
Old 12-12-2005, 07:49 PM

You will feel better about it if you shoot him next year when he is bigger. I wouldn't shoot him.
Old 12-12-2005, 07:51 PM
Nontypical Buck

I don't believe you should kill a particular animal you wouldn't ordinarily to satisfy your ego.Knowing that you could have done so should satisfy that need.
You have taken other animals and you have plenty of meat.You have nothing to prove to anyone!
Old 12-12-2005, 07:53 PM
Giant Nontypical

I think you answered it yourself. I say......

Old 12-12-2005, 08:01 PM

IMO, it depends. How much pressure does your hunting area recieve?

I can't control what the people on the bordering properties do, so I'll be darned if I am going to let a legal buck walk so some guy neighboring me that doesn't give a hoot about QDM can shoot the thing. I see it like this...it's gonna be me or him, and it ain't gonna be him if I can help it.