Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Confused

Old 08-26-2005, 11:33 PM

Default Confused

OK so let me start by saying that im new to bowhunting and dont know all that much about it. But today while sighting in my sights, I was shooting at 10 yards, I got pretty good groups but for some reason some of them always trail way off and hit like 4-5 inches away and evertime I shoot a set of 5 they always go to a differnt spot, and no matter how I adjust my sight I cannot get it to hit dead on. Can anybody help, or do I worry too much? Thanks

Corey
Old 08-27-2005, 02:40 AM

Default RE: Confused

I would check a couple things. Is your Bow tuned,and the arrows are all fletched,spined correctly . If all are yes then what you need to do is mark you arrows, I use a permant marker and shoot your group If the same arrows flair everytime. then get rid of them or re fletch them.You may havesomebent or scraped arrows.If those check out. then check at your form You may be grapping the grip or adding some torq some where. You may even be punching the trigger on your release. If you shoot fingers your could be plucking the string and not getting a smoth release. It could be a number of thingsbut that will get you started in the right direction.
Old 08-27-2005, 07:18 AM

One thing I know a lot of folks who are new to the sport make are that if they shoot one or two groups bad they immediately move thier sights or start tweeking their bow. Each person has good days and bad. And your shooting form can change based on your physical or mental state when shooting.