Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting Gear Review
Recommended Broadhead for bear >

Recommended Broadhead for bear

Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Recommended Broadhead for bear

Old 08-22-2002, 12:49 AM

Default Recommended Broadhead for bear

I am new to hunting with bows and I will be hunting black bear with a Barnett Rhino Sport Magnum crossbow. The listed FPS for the bow is 310. The area I will be hunting in is covered with heavy brush, so I would really like to drop the bear as quickly as possible to avoid having to track it through dense brush.

After the bear hunt, I will also try to take a deer in the same area.

What broadheads would you recommend as suitable for the job?

Thanks.
Old 08-22-2002, 04:14 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Recommended Broadhead for bear

Muzzy heads are excellent, as are the Rocky titainium heads. Magnus Snuffers are great, but you may have trouble getting them to fly from a crossbow. Crosbows tend to me harder to get good broadhead flight from. You may also want to look at some differnt mechanical heads. The new archery products Shockwave is a great one, as well as the Rocky Snypers. Remember though, shot placement is far more important that the specific broadhead used. I would also add that for quick kills don't shoot any broadhead at game unless the blades are shaving sharp.

TAKE YOUR KIDS HUNTING AND YOU WON'T BE HUNTING FOR YOUR KIDS
Old 08-22-2002, 08:29 AM