Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Bow Quality Question

Old 02-21-2004, 09:28 PM

Default Bow Quality Question

I am relatively new to bowhunting and this forum. However, I have noticed that most on this forum seem to have Mathews, BowTech, Hoyt, or one of the many other high end bows that I would certainly love to have but that are out my price range. I have seen very little info about Browning or Golden Eagle bows. The reason I bring it up is I am considering either a GE Obsession or a Browning Mirage. Both fit real nice, very similar in size and wt and price and, after shooting them both, they both seem, in my novice hands, to shoot very nice (much better than the old XI I have now). So, any info anyone could pass on that might help me make an informed decision would be much appreciated.
Thanks for the help.
Old 02-21-2004, 09:32 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Bow Quality Question

If you are looking for a quality bow at an affordable price, I would really suggest taking a look at a Reflex. They are made by Hoyt, but without the price tag. Very high quality IMO. There are also some others that are very good bows as well. I am just speaking from experience with the Reflex line.

Take a look at High Country, Parker and Champion as well. Very nice bows for the money.
Old 02-22-2004, 06:22 PM
Nontypical Buck

there are lots of things to look at when determining whethew a bow is a quality bow or not
using an arrow check the streightness of the cam and see if the arrow lines up with the limbs, the limbs should be in line with the cam is the bow balanced or do you have to add a lot of weight to get it to balance
if you use a strait edge on the sides of the limbs they should line up.