Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting Gear Review
Muzzy Phantom Broadheads >

Muzzy Phantom Broadheads

Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Muzzy Phantom Broadheads

Old 01-05-2014, 03:35 AM
Spike

Default Muzzy Phantom Broadheads

Hi All,

I am still fairly new to bow hunting, but its safe to say I'm hooked! I saw a friend post a link to these Muzzy Phantom MS Broadheads on facebook, and I thought they looked pretty bad ass.

I have read good things about Muzzy products, but just wondered if anyone had experience using these particular broadheads, as I wouldn't mind picking some up! Or maybe steer me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance
Old 01-05-2014, 05:13 AM
Boone & Crockett

The Phantom is a good flying broadhead out of a tuned bow. And the cut on contact design makes it a good choice for even a light draw weight bow. The only complaint I have about them is when shooting them into a 'block' type target. The blades are held in place by a detent on the ferrule and the flat edge at the base of the blade causes the blade to come off when removing from the target.
Old 01-05-2014, 05:24 PM
MZS
Typical Buck

Originally Posted by bronko22000
The blades are held in place by a detent on the ferrule and the flat edge at the base of the blade causes the blade to come off when removing from the target.
That would be a deal killer for me. Seems that the more move-able the blades, the more problems. My next broadhead will be a G5 Montec. With single-unit blades like the G5 you have no such problem and they may be resharpened with a flat diamond stone made for this without removing from the arrow. A little pricier, but the fact that you can resharpen yourself fairly easily would make up for it.
Old 01-06-2014, 05:27 AM
Boone & Crockett

Originally Posted by MZS