Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting Gear Review
 Backtension release for hunting >

Backtension release for hunting

Community
Bowhunting Gear Review Broadheads, arrows, rests, bows, and more... read the latest reviews of hot new gear items related to archery and bowhunting.

Backtension release for hunting

Old 12-28-2005, 09:11 AM
Fork Horn

Default Backtension release for hunting

I have been curious about the back tension release and if it is a good thing to bring in the woods. Just wondering if it would be as good at the range as it would be adding it to my hunting setup. I have no experience with these and currently shoot a True Ball Tornado. Any info would be appreciated.

~Jeff
Old 12-29-2005, 08:58 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Backtension release for hunting

A back tension will improve your archery shooting skills and confidence more than you can imagine. They take patience to learn though, maybe 2 or 3 months of consistent shooting to really develope the technique and burn it into your brain; and even then, you'll still improve every year as long as you stay with it. If you can, learn from a really good target shooter at a local pro shop. No matter how discouraged you get, and how much your trigger release punching buddies laugh at you, when you learn back tension, you'll smoke 'em.

As far as hunting goes, I carry mine as a back up, that's all. As much as punching a release is discouraged, not to mention bad for you mentally as far as archery goes, there are times in the woods when you'll need to punch that trigger. There are also times when you'll have the few extra seconds to squeeze a perfect shot. I prefer a trigger for hunting, back tension for year round practice and target shooting. A month before hunting season, I get my hunting release out, and sight in my broadheads with it.It only takes about an hour or so and shooting the Bt release all year 'round makes shooting a trigger a breeze.
Old 12-29-2005, 12:28 PM