Community
Bowfishing Everything from carp to gator to gar, from the rivers to the oceans; this is the place to share information and stories about bowfishing.

bowfishing kit?

Old 02-29-2008, 08:40 PM

Default bowfishing kit?

i have a pse silverhawk bow that i dont want for deer anymore. how can i convert this bow into one for bowfishing? i also need some help finding places to bowfish and how to bowfish becasuse i have never done it before
Old 02-29-2008, 10:21 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: bowfishing kit?

Mossberg, Welcome to the addiction.

Well...First you'll need a reel. I would strongly suggest an AMS retriever reel. It mounts to your sight/quiver mounting holes. That's OK, you won't need the sight or quiver while you're bowfishing. Most shots are close and most folks shoot instinctive.

Next you'll need a rest that will hold a heavy fiberglass fish arrow.

That brings us to the arrow. Absolutely, positively - do NOT use an arrow W/O a safety slide on it. Make sure you get at least two arrows. You probably won't lose one with the AMSset-up. But if you do, it stinks to have to stop when you lose an arrow.

As far as where to go, I'll let one of the OH guys take that one. For general info check out the bowfishing basics article at the top of this forum. It will give you a few more options on ways to set-up your PSE.

One other note, before you go, have a plan for how you will use/dispose of your fish.

Good luck, have fun and be safe.

Old 03-01-2008, 10:10 AM
Nontypical Buck

The silverhawkshould be a good bow to use. Ibought one recently to try for bowfishing. I just put a Bear Weather Reston it and shoot "instinctively". I also have a PSE Kingfisher T/D Recurve for bowfishing.

I'd start off with an inexpensive outfit and see how you like it. You can always upgrade to a more expensive reel later and then you will have the cheap one as a spare. An example isshown at:
http://www.bowhunterssuperstore.com/bohning-bowfishing-p-2961.html