Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowfishing
 Is bowfishing.....bowhunting? >

Is bowfishing.....bowhunting?

Bowfishing Everything from carp to gator to gar, from the rivers to the oceans; this is the place to share information and stories about bowfishing.

Is bowfishing.....bowhunting?

Old 01-17-2008, 11:47 AM
Dominant Buck

Default Is bowfishing.....bowhunting?

I'm intrigued (and the only reason for the thread header was to make sure this would be the correct forum). Even if it isn't....I'd like to know if any of you bowhunters are bowfishermen (and ladies).

Have any of you guys tried this? If so....was this with your compound or are most doing this with trad equipment?
Old 01-17-2008, 11:49 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Is bowfishing.....bowhunting?

I've been doing it since I was 5 years old with a recurve. I'm 33 now.
Old 01-17-2008, 11:50 AM
Dominant Buck

What type of fish do you go after? Around here....we have bass and carp.....and I'm only guessing that carp would be the no. 1 target???????

Old 01-17-2008, 11:51 AM
Nontypical Buck

I did it a few times as a kid, with a 35lb darton recurve. It was fun. If I wasn't so wrapped up in other things during the summer timeI'd love to try it again. I'd honestly probably prefer a recurve over a compound, if you have to shoot quickly and at close quarters (most of what I saw when bowfishing the few times I went) I'd always prefer a recurve.

Edit* - The apartment complex I just moved out of had 10+ acres of stocked fishing ponds, and had large quantities ofmassive grass carp in them. I had often times thought of how much fun it would be to bowfish there, but even though fishing was allowed I don't think the other tenants walking their dogs around the ponds and such would appreciate a pile of rotting carp in the bushes, and I certainly wasn't going to eat them. [8D]
Old 01-17-2008, 11:52 AM
Giant Nontypical