Community
Bowfishing Everything from carp to gator to gar, from the rivers to the oceans; this is the place to share information and stories about bowfishing.

AMS reel?

Old 03-17-2007, 01:50 PM
Fork Horn

Default AMS reel?

This past year was my first year bowfishing. My 2 buddies and i did pretty good and we are all hooked. All we used for reels last year was peanut butter jars, and wrapped the line around it with our hands, but i am looking to upgrade. I dont know if i want to drop the $70 on the AMS reel, but they look very nice. Are they worth the cost, or is there a less expensive reel which is just as good? Any help is appreciated thanks
Old 03-17-2007, 03:13 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: AMS reel?

Let me put it this way - I've been shooting the same one for over five years with no problem. All I've done is change the line. Don't use the line that comes with the bottle; heavier line is thicker and the wheels pick it up better.

Spincasts have their own discussion boards on how to repair them, where to find spare parts, how many back-up reels to take along...
Old 03-17-2007, 04:39 PM
Typical Buck

I have both and they both work good, an ams will definitely last you a long time,but you can get a couple of years from a synergy spincast reel with fast flight on it..$70.00 versus $20.00..They are both good...
Old 03-17-2007, 04:50 PM
Nontypical Buck

AMS is a great reel. Bullet proof as fish says.

Look at it this way, approximately $70 for the AMS that mounts to the quiver/sight bushings, tie on an arrow with safety slide or rings and you're ready to go.

Or, you can buy a spincast reel for $30 to $40, plus a good quality reel seat for $20, replace the line for another $10, tie on an arrow and be ready to go. Forget to push the release button, lose the $10 (or more)arrow, retie, curseand repeat.