Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 where did all the deer go???????? >

where did all the deer go????????

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

where did all the deer go????????

Old 01-09-2005, 11:23 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default where did all the deer go????????

I have been over on the bowhunting forum for the last couple of years, so some of you might know me from there alredy. Next year will be my first year with my new muzzleloader, and I will be hunting the same 11acre's that I bow hunt. I have been hunting this spot for the past 3-4 years. ( I am the first one to ever have permision to this spot ) Anyways, I am getting really frustrated with this spot. When I first started to hunt this spot, there were a ton of deer out there, I would see 5-10 deer every time I was out there. This past year, I can count the number of deer I saw for the whole year on 2 hands. I dont get it. This was the first year that I was really serious about scent control too. 2 weeks before the bow season started, we had a huge flood, I have a river running right thru my hunting spot, and I had about 15 feet of water covering my whole area. I dont know if that is why they moved out of my spot or what? I would have thought that they would have come back by now. And then I started using trail cameras last year right after Christmas 2003. I have been checking them on the weekends, but I make sure to go out there during the middle of the day, so I dont disturb the deer, (even still, I would jump on average, 3 deer every time I was out checking them) What do you all think? Have they just moved on to a different spot, or do you think they will come back? I should add, last winter, I could fill a roll of 24 film in less than a week, I just got back from checking them now and I had "0" pictures in 1 week.[:@] Sorry this is so long, I just needed to vent a little.
Old 01-09-2005, 12:07 PM