Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Which Bullet and Load For Deer / Elk ? >

Which Bullet and Load For Deer / Elk ?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Which Bullet and Load For Deer / Elk ?

Old 12-27-2004, 10:25 AM

Default Which Bullet and Load For Deer / Elk ?

I'm new at Black Powder hunting. I primarily hunt Deer and Elk. So I thought I'd asked the experienced hunters.

Currently I am shooting a TC Black Diamond, 22". The powder I purchased is 777.

The bullets that came with the rifle are the Hornady 50 cal. 45 240 XTP / Mag. I purchased a box of Maxi-hunter 50 Cal. 350 Grains.

I really like how easy the Maxi-hunters load. The sabot bullets seem harder to load.

My questions are:

Are the two above mentioned bullets good? I want a load and bullet that will punch through and has a low percentage of reflecting off bone, etc.

Have any of you tested other bullets, powder and primers that have worked well with Deer and Elk?

I recently shot a Deer with my old 30-30 after switching to a soft nose from a Silvertip. It reflected off a rib and when back into the guts. (I was up to my elbows in SH*T.) I never had that problem with the Silvertips.

Thanks
Old 12-27-2004, 11:51 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Which Bullet and Load For Deer / Elk ?

I have a Black Diamond XR. Mine of course has the longer barrel but should really make no difference since I seldom shoot more then 100 grains of powder out of it.

Some of the pet loads are 80 grains of Triple Se7en or Goexz FFFg and a .503 diameter 460 grain No Excuses Conical. I never had a chance to try this on an animal yet, but I am positive after seeing how it reacts on the range that this is an animal stopper. It loads like a dream and shoots excellent.