Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 do you all discharge your muzzleloader? >

do you all discharge your muzzleloader?

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

do you all discharge your muzzleloader?

Old 11-25-2004, 06:54 AM
Typical Buck

Default do you all discharge your muzzleloader?

Im new to black powder and I have a CVA firebolt. I am curious what to do once it is loaded up but u dont see any deer to shoot at? Do you shoot it off? Do you remove the blasting cap and just leave the gun semi loaded?

Whats the best thing to do?

And if you shoot it do you clean your gun everytime once u get home?

Thanks
Jim
Old 11-25-2004, 07:22 AM

Default RE: do you all discharge your muzzleloader?

You can keep it loaded if the weather's been dry and you're hunting the next day. Don't bring your gun into a warm house though. And if it's damp out, fire it or remove the charge by pushing it out the breech. Regardless, always remove the primer!
Old 11-25-2004, 09:03 AM

If the weather is good, I shoot off every third day, clean and reload.
Old 11-25-2004, 09:59 AM
Dominant Buck

I shoot mine off every night and clean the rifle. Then I start with a fresh, clean, charged rifle the next day. I want to know at the end of the day whether my weather proof tactics work, and whether the rifle would have fired. If something does not work that evening, I have all night to figure it out and fix it.

I admit there has been a few times where due to circumstances I could not fire it off. Usually the next morning when I hit the woods I shoot it off and reload the rifle. Believe me, when you keep it loaded for a couple day and it goes off, where I live with the cold wet hunting conditions I usually face, you're never sure it it will go off. The last thing I need is spend all day stalking a deer only to hear the cap pop when the final moment comes.