Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
QLA Flunked, Yes It Did >

QLA Flunked, Yes It Did

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

QLA Flunked, Yes It Did

Old 02-14-2016, 09:31 AM
  #1  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rapid City, South Dakota
Posts: 3,732
Default QLA Flunked, Yes It Did

Two rifles came with, to the hills this morning. The Optima, and another Omega. This is the third different Omega shot these past two days; it is the one that was used to 'burst' pop. First the Omega was shot three times, then the Optima. W209 primer was used in both rifles, as was Art' (Flounder) home cast conicals, a wad, and 60g Blackhorn.











One can see that a bullet fired by the Omega nearly, completely missed the paper, and the three shots look like they came from a shotgun.






ronlaughlin is offline  
Old 02-14-2016, 09:33 AM
  #2  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,037
Default

Not so good.
flounder33 is offline  
Old 02-14-2016, 10:09 AM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rapid City, South Dakota
Posts: 3,732
Default

Art, surely you don't think the problem is your casting? Remember 4 year ago when you sent those 499g, your first casting? They scattered the same as these, from that old X7. What i did then was cut the OLA off of that rifle.













After i cut the QLA off, here is what i wrote back then
when i arrived in the hills, rain seemed imminent, so i didn't take long placing the target at 48 yard, and loading the X7 with 100g BH, 300g Deep Curl, crush rib sabot, and W209 primer. The aim was the lower bull for all shots taken today. Two shots were taken using the Deep Curl; they are the 2 holes in the lower target.






Without taking time to adjust the scope, the rifle was loaded 3 times with Art' bullet, 85g BH, and W209 primer. The holes dyed green are these shots. Then a move was made out to 100 yard. By now it had begun raining, so the rifle was loaded and fired with Art' bullet 3 times without delay. These are the other 3 holes in the upper target. That uses all the 499g Art cast bullet i had.
ronlaughlin is offline  
Old 02-14-2016, 10:17 AM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,037
Default

I would have a tendency to blame the QLA, there is one way to find out!
flounder33 is offline  
Old 02-14-2016, 03:39 PM
  #5  
Boone & Crockett
 
bronko22000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 12,712
Default

Does this go along with your theory that if the QLA is off center of the bore line than it will cause an erratic pressure imbalance to the bullet as it passes on the way out which in turn affects accuracy?
It makes sense to me too.
bronko22000 is offline  
Old 02-14-2016, 05:01 PM
  #6  
Fork Horn
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Irvine, KY
Posts: 157
Default

Bronko, I have had this happen with the AR platform. When I accuracy tune an AR the first thing is to remove the factory flash suppressor and install a break that has the perforation 360 degrees. The gasses around the muzzle will cause issues with accuracy if the preasure is not equal upon the exit of the bullet.
Slowburn is offline  
Old 02-15-2016, 04:53 AM
  #7  
Giant Nontypical
 
Muley Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,557
Default

Originally Posted by bronko22000 View Post
Does this go along with your theory that if the QLA is off center of the bore line than it will cause an erratic pressure imbalance to the bullet as it passes on the way out which in turn affects accuracy?
It makes sense to me too.

Why wouldn't this pressure imbalance affect a sabot?
Muley Hunter is offline  
Old 02-15-2016, 06:22 AM
  #8  
Boone & Crockett
 
sabotloader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,691
Default

sabotloader is offline  
Old 02-15-2016, 09:00 AM
  #9  
Giant Nontypical
 
Muley Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,557
Default

That didn't answer my question Mike.
Muley Hunter is offline  
Old 02-15-2016, 09:16 AM
  #10  
Boone & Crockett
 
sabotloader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Idaho
Posts: 11,691
Default

Originally Posted by Muley Hunter View Post
That didn't answer my question Mike.
Why wouldn't this pressure imbalance affect a sabot?
Sorry Pete... The reason it does not effect sabots or even Power Belts - is the powder cup expands to the size of the QLA containing pressure behind the bullet.

Using a MMP sub-base would accomplish the same thing firing a full bore conical.

sabotloader is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.