Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

looking for help

Old 12-12-2014, 04:13 AM
Spike

Default looking for help

Hello all. I have inherited a TC Flintlock recently. I am looking for some help. I am brand new to the black powder world. I have been reading a lot of various threads and have learned a lot. I am looking for some advice on what loads and bullets to use for deer hunting. Any help is appreciated on loads as well as any other good tips.
Old 12-12-2014, 04:20 AM
Dominant Buck

Being its a flintlock use only black powder. Even the rifles that claim the can shoot substitutes normally end up duplexing with black powder. So why not use the powder made for flintlock rifles. Depending on your rifle it might like FF or FFF. Only testing will show that. I would start with FF first if a .50 caliber, FFF if under .50 caliber.

Many of the T/C rifles have a 1-48 twist. You don't mention the model. There are a few that have a slower 1-66 twist. But both of them will shoot round ball. Get some .490 roundball if .50 caliber. 530 roundball if .54 caliber. A .015 patch is a good start. You might have to get thinner but I doubt it. As for the lube, spit works. Olive oil, Liquid Wrench, Mink Oil, and countless others. Yes and even bore butter works.

Start testing your rifle with 80 grains and work up 5 grains at a time. I will guess the best groups are around 85-90 grains of powder and a patched ball.

Keep your flints sharp. use at least 3f in the pan... 4f is better. In my T/C flinters they like their pan powder on the outside edge of the pan. If you get too close to the touch hole they tend to fuse fire.

Other then that, swab between shots if you have to and have fun.
Old 12-12-2014, 04:33 AM
Typical Buck

^^^^^^^^^^^^

Listen to this guy, he's shot a gun or two.
Old 12-12-2014, 04:48 AM
Nontypical Buck

I'm guessing you will be using real blackpowder..... Goex perhaps.