Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Meat but no horns

Old 10-23-2013, 04:36 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Meat but no horns

Muzzy season started Saturday here in Arkansas. I'm on vacation this week for it. I hadn't seen very many deer since the season opened. This morning I had a good sized doe come through so I thought I would put some meat in the freezer. I shot her at 40 yards broadside, shooting my TC Triumph with 100grs of T7 and a 250gr bonded shock wave. I have been using bonded shock waves for several years with very good results. Today was a bit different. At the shot she took off which I couldn't see because of the smoke, but could hear her running through the thick brush. When I got to where she was standing I found very little blood, I started trailing her up and the blood was very sparse for the first 100 yards and then it completely dried up. I couldn't find a single drop past that point, I was really questioning myself about my shot placement. I felt good about the shot when I pulled the trigger, but the lack of blood had me wondering. I started making sweeping circles in the direction that she was running and on my second sweep I found her. There was some blood around where she fell but I couldn't find a blood trail leading to where she was. She ran approximately 200 yards. I cant remember one running over 50 yards with a well placed shot from a shock wave. The bullet hit her right where I was aiming, right behind the shoulder mid-way up the chest. I cant figure that one out, but at least I found her.
Attached Thumbnails Meat but no horns-img_20131023_111140_015.jpg  
Old 10-23-2013, 04:43 PM
Boone & Crockett

Congrats on the doe, glad you found her. Sometimes things just happen.
Old 10-23-2013, 05:56 PM
Boone & Crockett

Congrats on the doe greg. No horns?? We don't need no stinking horns.