Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

any benifits?

Old 09-24-2003, 01:10 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default any benifits?

i hear some people put 10gr of 4fg down the bore first then their powder charge of 2fg....im shooting a flintlock....would htere be any benifits to doing that or what have you seen??? also my manual says to trail in some of my priming powder into the touchhole but others say keep it away from the touch hole because it takes longer....what have you noticed?? once i did over prime to about 3/4 of a pan an noticed a bit of lock time that i didnt in the other shots i fired that day....anyone? im new to flinting and looking for the best way to get my flinter to shoot good everytime i pull the trigger.....thanx alot just wondering
Old 09-24-2003, 05:30 PM

Default RE: any benifits?

I do know that it is good to have a touchhole liner that is coned out on the inner side of it, with a touchhole not too small. Straight 2F down the barrel is all that you should need, some people use the 4F under their Pyrodex main charge to assist in ignition. Ideally when the barrel is loaded, you should be able to see a kernel of 2F powder waiting for ya in the touchhole, keep the pan filled below the hole with 4F. You don' t want too much powder in the pan behaving like a fuze, you want that fire flaring upwards kissing that kernel of 2F at the touchhole instantly setting off the main charge. Use nothing but sharp edged hand knapped English or German flints for spark every time. Practice with it as often as you can, experiment with charge weights and bullet types, you' ll only improve.
Old 09-24-2003, 06:58 PM

mauser I use a 10 grain charge of 4f under the pyrodex select main charge
never had a problem with ignition fires every time I also change to english flints.