Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Last minute muzzleloader hunt!!! >

Last minute muzzleloader hunt!!!

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Last minute muzzleloader hunt!!!

Old 12-07-2012, 06:46 PM
Fork Horn

Default Last minute muzzleloader hunt!!!

Well, I decided to leave school today as soon as the bell rang for the kids to leave. I'm a school teacher. I rushed home to change clothes and then hurried to my hunting property for an afternoon sit. I just made it about ten minutes before the the first doe showed up. About ten minutes before I lost all shooting light this 7-point came in at the far end of the food plot. I've been watching him on my game camera since early June. There is a bigger 6-point that is with him some times but i decided that this guy would fit the bill with my muzzleloader. I have been wanting to give the Speer .452/300gr Gold Dot bullet a try on some game. Well at 98 yards it more than did the trick. The deer was slighlty quartering to me when the trigger broke. The bullet entered high in the front shoulder and exited about midway of the rib cage on the other side. He never took a step. When the smoke cleared I could see his white belly laying in the green grass of the food plot. I was using my T/C Endaevor loaded with 110 gr. of BH209, a Win 209 primer, Speer gold Dot 300 gr. bullet and a Harvester short black sabot. Just wanted to share my story with you guys. He's not a monster but I was more than happy to put him in the back of my truck. Here are the pics.

Last minute muzzleloader hunt!!!-7-point-1.jpg

Last minute muzzleloader hunt!!!-7-point-2.jpg

Last minute muzzleloader hunt!!!-7-point-3.jpg

Last minute muzzleloader hunt!!!-7-point-4.jpg

Last edited by SHulion; 12-07-2012 at 06:53 PM.
Old 12-07-2012, 06:48 PM
Fork Horn

Sorry for the small pics. Im not sure how to make them bigger.
Old 12-07-2012, 06:50 PM