Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
tc encore accuracy >

tc encore accuracy

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

tc encore accuracy

Old 11-27-2011, 04:25 AM
  #11  
Boone & Crockett
 
falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Comance county, OK
Posts: 11,353
Default

A slightly loose hinge pin would not cause a previously accurate Encore to suddenly shoot 5-6" groups at one hundred yards. Neither would loose thimbles: The thimbles on my Encore have been loose since i bought the gun, it has not caused any problems with accuracy.

I took the rifle to my local gun shop and had replaced with steel and also told them to check the base while they had the scope off.
There is something wrong with your scope, scope mount or rings. It may be related to your trip to the gunshop.
falcon is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 06:04 AM
  #12  
Spike
 
Shack56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 17
Default

I had terrible accuracy with my Encore, went the Bellum's route with a trigger job, 1x hinge pin on the .270 barrel and a 2x on the muzzleloader barrel and the heavier barrel locking lug spring. Made a world of difference for the better. Did the work myself only had to buy the parts.
Shack56 is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 06:36 AM
  #13  
Spike
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 49
Default

Grinder67, I may have your answer. Actually not "my" answer, but that of writer Randy Wakeman in one of his muzzleloader forums.
The exact same thing happened to my Knight Wolverine that once shot 3" groups at 200yds (no I'm not kidding).
Mr. Wakeman suggested replacing the breech plug with a brand new one (same model of b. plug of course) and... cha-ching! My groups once again returned to their great original accuracy.
Turns out that breech plugs slowly erode away; progressively changing your barrel pressure ever so slightly.
Hope this works for you as it did for me. jimsmokepole
jimsmokepole is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 06:50 AM
  #14  
Spike
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 49
Default grinder67 problem solved with declining accuracy

Grinder, I just posted to your question about your loss of accuracy in your inline rifle.
I hope it went through, but not sure so I'm doing a general reply too.
Anywhoo, after I experienced the same problem, I found / read an article by writer Randy Wakeman who suggested replacing the breech plug. It worked perfectly for me. Hope it helps you too.
jimsmokepole
jimsmokepole is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 07:39 AM
  #15  
Nontypical Buck
 
SuperKirby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 1,068
Default

I hadn't thought of the breech plug, but that could be a possibility. My first guess is still the scope/mounts/rings. It seems to me that if your accuracy was good before, then the scope was changed, and now your accuracy is bad, then it's probably the thing that was changed. Maybe try pulling the scope and shooting open sights at 50 yards and see what kind of group you can get.
I would also maybe recommend dropping your powder charge, though if that's the load that been working I suspect it's suddenly going to change.
Those would be the two cheapest tests, so that's where I would start. If you're still having problems then I would look into hinge pin locking springs, etc.
SuperKirby is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 09:23 AM
  #16  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rapid City, South Dakota
Posts: 3,732
Default

Originally Posted by jimsmokepole View Post
....................................
Turns out that breech plugs slowly erode away; progressively changing your barrel pressure ever so slightly........................
By Jove, i think you are on to something.
ronlaughlin is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 02:13 PM
  #17  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,618
Default

wow .......................and all i had to do was change to BH209
cataway is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 04:31 AM
  #18  
Typical Buck
Thread Starter
 
grinder67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: IN.
Posts: 513
Default

The scope work came after I had noticed the accuracy problem. I had aluminum rings and one of the screws had all but pulled threw the ring ( probably from over tightning on my part) so i replaced them with steel. The breach plug idea is interesting i think I will replace it and see what happens!
grinder67 is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 05:55 AM
  #19  
Typical Buck
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chippewa Falls WI
Posts: 913
Default

I would change the breech plug I have 3 encores and 5 breech plugs carbon also builds up in them also.
Johnmorris is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 06:22 AM
  #20  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rapid City, South Dakota
Posts: 3,732
Default

Those of you replacing breech plug because the flash hole has noticeable eroded, keep in mind that you can refurbish the worn plug by installing a vent liner. Don't toss them worn plug. Sabotloader has posted at least one thread showing how to do the work. First time through for me, was kinda nerve wracking, but now a day i do this work before breakfast, and find it trivially easy.
ronlaughlin is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.