Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

crud ring

Old 10-28-2011, 06:39 PM
  #1  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 19
Default crud ring

I know this has probably been discussed before
but can someone tell me if a crud ring can dramatically
affect accuracy
little gump is offline  
Old 10-28-2011, 07:09 PM
  #2  
Giant Nontypical
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,585
Default

Yes it can. Thats why you have to scrub it out before loading the next shot. If a bullet is held up of the powder a number of things could happened none of them good.
lemoyne is offline  
Old 10-28-2011, 07:24 PM
  #3  
Giant Nontypical
 
Muley Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 9,557
Default

If you can get the next shot loaded.
Muley Hunter is offline  
Old 10-28-2011, 08:15 PM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
oldsmellhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,482
Default

Yes. If you are getting the crud ring it is usually necessary to swab between shots. I used a 50/50 mix of windex and rubbing alcohol with one patch, then 1 or 2 dry patches. I get the crud ring more in some rifles than others, no idea why. I have tried using T7 primers and loose FFFG T7 which seems to produce less of a crud ring in some rifles. I have 2 CVA's - with one the crud ring is really not an issue, and I can shoot multiple times without swabbing with only minimal degradation of accuracy. The other CVA gets a moderate crud ring that needs swabbing, although I can shoot 2 to 3 times in a pinch. My Knight gets the crud ring really bad, and I absolutely have to swab between each shot.
oldsmellhound is offline  
Old 10-28-2011, 08:19 PM
  #5  
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boncarbo,Colorado
Posts: 9,186
Default

yep any time you start reducing a size of a hole yet still use the same projectile as you did on a clean bore, pressure is going to start building up higher and higher each shot that its not cleaned out. That will kill accuracy.
MountainDevil54 is offline  
Old 10-29-2011, 05:26 PM
  #6  
Spike
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Md.eastern shore
Posts: 79
Default Crud ring

I had this problem when I first got my encore, I havnt had a ring since I switched to ffg T7 and T7 caps. my go to load is 110 gr FFg T7 and 245 barnes with T7 cap !!!!!!!!
cubfan56 is offline  
Old 10-29-2011, 07:05 PM
  #7  
Nontypical Buck
 
gregrn43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: arkansas
Posts: 3,162
Default

I use T7 as well out of two of my rifles. I just swab between each shot and don't have problem.
gregrn43 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.