Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
traditional vs. modern >

traditional vs. modern

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

traditional vs. modern

Old 10-13-2011, 04:35 AM
Typical Buck

Default traditional vs. modern

Well i was just wondering what most people prefer. I know alot of guys on this forum shoot both and for different reasons i suppose. I personally like the traditional route. Although i am just getting started i have found this route to have alot of meaning and purpose. I for one do not hunt with a muzzleloader just for "another season" but more because of the history the rifles stand for. Here in south dakota you cannot have a scope on a muzzleloader during the muzzleloader season so therefore in this state why not shoot traditional. I can probably come close to matching roundballs for conicals or saboted bullets at 75 or 100 yrds with open sights accuracy wise and i can do it at alot cheaper price so why not. I have tried both inlines and sidelocks and i personally never care if i touch another inline. This is just my side of the story and i am not neccasarily trying to ruffle any feathers here i just want to hear other peoples view.
Old 10-13-2011, 05:15 AM
Nontypical Buck

It's like most things in life, it's personal prefrence.

I hunt with both. The states I hunt (execpt CO) allow scopes and sabots during ML season but sometimes I just choose not to use them.

I will say this, if I'm going into an area like Fort Campbell where I know the probablily of killing a wall hanger exists, I will be using an inline.
Old 10-13-2011, 05:33 AM
Giant Nontypical