Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
TC newenglander shotgun question >

TC newenglander shotgun question

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

TC newenglander shotgun question

Old 12-10-2010, 12:14 PM
Fork Horn

Default TC newenglander shotgun question

I just acquired a newenglander shotgun ( none choked), I have been looking for one of these for years. Now I need a little help. what do I need to purchase to load this thing? what do you all use for wads Over powder and over shot ? I think I will be useing triple 7 2f. what load would you recommend for grouse. and also if I was to turkey hunt with it what shot cup would I need to get to tighten the pattern for the 25+ yards I would be shooting. I have many muzzleloader rifles, but this is my first Muzzleloading shotgun. again I'm new to this shotgun thing, so please let me know what I need, and where to purchase this stuff. my buddy just saw my new gun and wants one really bad, he has the newenglander rifle barrel, but can he order a shotgun barrel from TC custom shop ? and what would that run him for cost ?
Thanks in advance. Steve
Old 12-10-2010, 03:04 PM
Dominant Buck

I have a New Englander 12 gauge. My grouse load is;

80 grains of Pyrodex RS or APP 2f powder
then an over the powder card
then a fiber filler wad
then 90 grains of #5 bird shot
then two over the shot cards.

Another way to load the gun is;

90 grains of APP 2f or Pyrodex RS
plastic 2-3/4 shotcup
an equal amount of #5 bird shot poured down the barrel
two over the shot cards.

these loads have knocked grouse down at 25 yards approximately. Be on your toes, because you have little time to do it. But when I had the dog, he'd point them out to me so it was a little easier.