Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
Got to the farm Again... >

Got to the farm Again...

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Got to the farm Again...

Old 01-26-2010, 06:51 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default Got to the farm Again...

It was raining all morning but I really had a need to do some shooting so I headed to the farm.

Tom had cleaned out one of the out buildings, the only things left under the canopy was a PU camper and boat... I was able to back under the canopy in the camper section - open the tailgate and the my canopy cover and work off my tailgate work bench and everything stayed dry.

I set the bench up in the next stall in fronto of the boat and walked the target out 35 paces - which I thought would be somewhare near 25 yards.... I do not pace for a living and it is a good thing - cause a was a bit farther than 25 yards. When I ranged it at the end of shooting with the range finder it was 37/38 yards.

The goal was to sight in a new Nikon Omega on a Knight DISC 50 and I also wanted to test a new Chrono that has not worked right the last two trips out.... I was reading a 3 digit number and that was really bothering me... I sent a email to Competition Electronics and the service tech very politely said - "you dummy... you have it set on meters/second" he didn't say "you dummy' but after him telling me what was wrong I know he was thinking that.... i didn't even know it could measure 'meters/second' Well anyway, he told me the key strokes to get it back to feet/second and now everything is good.

Anyway got the target out and the chrono setup and commenced to shooting. I was shooting the last of a box of 300 grain XTP's and I was going to shoot both BH and T7 - I decided to shoot 110 grain of both powders just for drill. Thought it would be a good place to start sighting the scope in.