Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
jim shockey ffg loose powder >

jim shockey ffg loose powder

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

jim shockey ffg loose powder

Old 07-27-2009, 07:17 AM
Spike

Default jim shockey ffg loose powder

has anyone used this powder if so how did it work out I got a free can of it today from a gun shop that is going to start carring it and they asked me to try it and let them know
Old 07-27-2009, 08:23 AM
Fork Horn

I tried it last year. I have only used about a 1/3 of the can. I am new to muzzle loading as of last year. What drew me in was the no need to swab between shots. In my Optima Elite however, I was only able to load about two consecutive with the 200gr Shockwaves before I couldn't load another. I did come up with a load at 90gr that shot a 1.5" group at 100yds. I just started spit a dry patching after everyshot though. The grains of the powder are not consistent at all. I just tried BH209 this past weekend and don't think I'll go to anything else. Now I have about 2/3 a can of Shockeys to either give away or shoot up.
Old 07-27-2009, 10:32 AM
Giant Nontypical

I shot it for about 2 years its weak compared to 777,Pyrodex and BH209, it was nice in the sense that I could shoot 25 or 30 shots before I cleaned. But it attracts moisture and after I had to throw away a can I decided to switch to BH209. Lee
Old 07-27-2009, 10:51 AM
Boone & Crockett

Here are some 5-shot velocity averages I got over the chronograph with my Mustang and 385 grain Hornady Great Plains bullets. All loads were 90 grain volume.

Triple 7 FFFG - 1583 fps
Pyrodex RS - 1144 fps
Jim Shockey Gold FFG - 1018 fps

However, the JSG gave me the tightest 100 yard group with that load.
Old 07-27-2009, 11:44 AM
Boone & Crockett