Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Looking for an affordable bullet that works. >

Looking for an affordable bullet that works.

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Looking for an affordable bullet that works.

Old 03-29-2009, 01:55 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Looking for an affordable bullet that works.

When i started shooting and testing Lehigh bullets people came out of the cracks to complain about performance, cost, Brass, etc,etc. At the end of the day, all i know right now is they are accurate. Are they cheap, Hell no.

There are many companies with cheap bullets. I noticed Knight is selling MZ expanders for $14.00 bucks for 18 bullets. That's not cheap by any means. By the time you ship them they will be over a buck a bullet. If you like MZ Expander bullets, but cant afford them. Just buy a 250grn Hornady XTP or a 300grn XTP. They will do anything a MZ expander can do alot cheaper. I have no complaints about the Barnes MZ expander, they work. I have shot Deer with them. The XTP works to. Dont think you got to use a brand name bullet to shoot and kill Deer humanly. And you dont need to spend a buck a bullet either. My sporting store sells them for $16.00 bucks for a hundred 250grn XTP'S. That's like 16cents a bullet. They sell harvester sabots for $5.99 for 50 of them. That's 11cents a sabot. A little shopping and buying locally is a must to save money sometimes.

Can members please post some bullets that are cheap that you have had excellant results with for the members who dont have the money to buy the more exspensive brand name bullets. I would think Deer size game is good enough for the bullet choices. Maybe even some cheaper places to buy sabots and supplies. I'm sure there are plenty of people who have lost there jobs and could use a little help now in the pricing department.